PROMISE VIRUS and WIndows XP Activation

February 19, 2008 at 12:10 am 1 comment

I encountered the Baguio StrawBerry Virus through the laptop of my boss. WHile grappling the virus the said laptop also have the “Error Code: 0x80040507” which prevents me from loggging in … oh! what a complicated life!

Here’s how I solve the two problems- with the help of the internet of course:

A. Removing the Baguio StrawBerry Virus

1. Since I also can no longer login to the computer I used the Safe Mode by pressing F8 during computer
startup.

2. After logging in in Safe Mode I unhide all the files on the laptop.

3. I searched all the files named <em><strong>exiplorer.exe</strong></em> and <em><strong>autoautorun.inf</strong></em> then I delete them without mercy.

4. After that I run regedit and go to <strong>HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion\Winlogon</strong>. Then I looked for <strong>LegalNoticeCaption</strong> and delete the data <strong>“PROMISE???”</strong>

4. I also look for <strong>LegalNoticeText</strong> and deleted the data <strong>“I am still waiting for the strawberry coming from my baguio! Pls…Help!”</strong>

The Baguio StrawBerry Virus is gone WITH THE WIND…

B. The Error Code: 0x80040507

1. I went to <strong>C:\windows\system32</strong> and renamed the <strong>wpa.dba</strong> file to wpa.karaan. (The view file options I stated before still unhides all the files in my laptop)

2. Then I reboot the Windows XP and the windows asked me to reativated the Windows XP.

3. I clicked YES and after a few more steps (a kindergarten can understand which button to click) my
windows XP is activated and I can login again.

My two problems are solved…. what a beautiful day!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Four Wives The atheist and the bear

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. jess  |  January 11, 2009 at 8:43 am

    thanks for the information my frend

    Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

February 2008
M T W T F S S
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
2526272829  

Most Recent Posts